Church of St. John the Baptist

The buildings of the former Minorite Monastery and hospital constructed later are adjacent to the church. The Gothic church, located on the site of an original Romanesque sanctuary, was built gradually from the beginning of the 13th century. In the following century, the Chapel of St. Nicholas was constructed, which is sometimes called a pearl of the high-Gothic in South Bohemia; and construction of the Monastery was begun. The original rich Gothic fresco decoration of the church, one of the most important expressions of Czech wall painting of the mid 14th century, was partly disrupted in the upper part of the nave by a star-ribbed vault from the 15th century. Interesting architecture, numerous wall paintings, many tombstones (the most precious is the Gothic tombstone of Magdalena of Gleichen from 1492 made of red marble, and the Renaissance tombstones of lords Štěpánovský of Lisov from the 1st quarter of the 17th century) and early-Baroque contents of the church create a monument unique in the entire complex of Middle European significance. The church, which is administered by the Museum of Jindřichův Hradec, was opened to the public recently; the monastery building has also been reconstructed. The church is now used as a concert hall; the south aisle of the church is a museum for exhibitions.

Opening hours:

July - August - daily
9:00 - 12:00 and 13:00 - 16:00 hrs.